| Contact
Perkins Journal | Perkins, OK

home : stillwater journal : people September 30, 2014

12/13/2013 9:26:00 PM
Regents approve banning e-cigarettes

The OSU/A&M Board of Regents approved an update in Oklahoma State University's tobacco use policy Friday, Dec. 6, that will prohibit the use of ecigarettes on the Stillwater campus.

OSU's revised Tobacco Use and Smoking Preparation Use in or on University Property policy creates a tobacco-free environment and smoking preparations now "include but are not limited to hookahs, electronic cigarettes, vapor devices, and clove cigarettes."

"Oklahoma State was a leader in establishing a tobacco-free campus so this revision is consistent with our health and wellness efforts," said Dr. Suzy Harrington, chief wellness officer. "To protect the health of OSU faculty, staff and students these products should be prohibited until more research on their safety has been completed."

Harrington discussed the revision broadly, presenting it to Faculty Council, the Student Government Association, the Staff Advisory Council and the Dean's Council.

In a resolution supporting the change in policy, the OSU Student Government Association said "the use of electronic cigarettes in the classroom setting is distracting and compromises the learning process."

State health officials, including Oklahoma Health Commissioner Terry Cline, have spoken out in favor of banning the use of electronic cigarettes, which are not regulated and have seen steady growth in use by teenagers.

The revised policy takes effect immediately on OSU's Stillwater campus.

Several Oklahoma State University personnel actions were also approved during the meeting Friday in Langston.

APPOINTMENTS: Lakshmi T. Sunkara, research assistant professor, Animal Science; Baskar Nammalwar, research assistant professor, chemistry; Francisco J. Martinez Becerra, research assistant professor, Microbiology & Molecular Genetics; Amber R. Dickinson, clinical assistant professor, Political Science; Geir Hareland, professor, Chemical Engineering; Xiaoliang Jin, assistant professor, Mechanical & Aerospace Engineering; T. Chris Smith, clinical assistant professor, Design, Housing, Merchandising From the Institute of Technology in Okmulgee, Jennifer A. Payton, director, Grants & Sponsored Programs.

CHANGES: Stephen W. McKeever, title change from regents professor and vice president for research and technology transfer to regents professor and director, Physics. Lisa A. Fain, title change from manager to director of business operations, Dean of Business Administration. Betty J. Simkins, title change from professor and Williams Cos. professor to Williams Cos. chair, Finance. From the Veterinary Health Sciences, Jing Liu Pope, title change from research scientist to research associate professor, Physiological Sciences.

RETIREMENT: Charles B. Cox, 4H Youth Development Programs, December 31, 2013; David W. Freeman, Animal Sciences, December 31, 2013; Harold J. Harmon, Physics, January 6, 2014; Gary L. Foutch, Chemical Engineering, March 1, 2014.

Article Comment Submission Form
Please feel free to submit your comments.

Article comments are not posted immediately to the Web site. Each submission must be approved by the Web site editor, who may edit content for appropriateness. There may be a delay of 24-48 hours for any submission while the web site editor reviews and approves it.

Note: All information on this form is required. Your telephone number is for our use only, and will not be attached to your comment.
Submit an Article Comment
First Name:
Last Name:
Anti-SPAM Passcode Click here to see a new mix of characters.
This is an anti-SPAM device. It is not case sensitive.

Advanced Search

Subscription Login

  1 2 3 4 5 6
7 8 9 10 11 12 13
14 15 16 17 18 19 20
21 22 23 24 25 26 27
28 29 30        

NewsEventsClassifiedsDirectoryWeatherExtrasPeopleLifeStillwater JournalLocalLife
Copyright 2014 The Perkins Journal
Software © 1998-2014 1up! Software, All Rights Reserved